dvd-hq.info Forum Index dvd-hq.info
DVD & video forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Burned DVD's are jerky on home player :-(

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Renaatski

PostPosted: Fri 17 Oct 2003, 9:36    Post subject: Burned DVD's are jerky on home player :-( Reply with quote

Hi all,

another total newbie question I'm affraid... Confused

I've recently acquired myself a Sony TRV-22 digital camcorder for capturing the first moments in life of my daugther Smile So I decided to invest in a DVD-burner too, for making DVD's to view them afterwards... I was able to get one second-hand of a friend (an 8 month old Pioneer DVR-A05/105) at a very good price

I followed the guide on dvdrhelp.com for encoding to MPEG-2, and the result on my PC is quite satisfactory (using powerDVD 4.0), quality has been preserved, which is paramount to me... (I did use "interlaced")

I used Ulead DVD Movie Factory afterwards to burn this to DVD-RW, and that's where the problem comes in. My home player doesn't seem to be able to read DVD-RW discs. As an alternative (I'm out of blank DVD-R's) I tried to burn the same video to a blank CD, but the result is very jerky video! Sad

I used 8000/6000/4000 as max/avg/min bitrates in TMPGenc so I guess that's fine...

I even tried burning just the ES Video stream (so no audio), to eliminate audio decoder probs. My guess is that my home player is in need of replacement... Or could I expect that using DVD-R discs, the results would be better ?

The thing is , I'm suspecting my home player - which is a rather old one , a RAITE AVPhile 711 - not being able to handle these bitrates, which is puzzling since commercial DVD's play fine ? So if this is a bitrate issue, at what bitrate are commercial DVD's encoded then ?