dvd-hq.info Forum Index dvd-hq.info
DVD & video forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Which Codec to use - hardware or software

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mattlynne

PostPosted: Thu 3 Jul 2003, 16:13    Post subject: Which Codec to use - hardware or software Reply with quote

I am new to video editing and have a simple query. I have a 2.4GB PC, 768MB memory, 120GB hard drive running Pinnacle DVD500plus Vs 4.5 and Premiere 6. The advice I have been given for compression is to use the hardware codec, and follow the Pinnacle suggested codecs. My compression ratios are about 3:1 which I don't think is great, and won't allow me to put an hour of raw video footage onto a DVD.

If the Pinnacle system is so good, why are 75% of your readers using TMPGenc - is this not just a software codec, which will take much longer to render movies Question

I would love to know what the true benefits of your encoders are over something like the Pinnacle hardware Exclamation
RMN
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu 3 Jul 2003, 18:28    Post subject: Re: Which Codec to use - hardware or software Reply with quote

Mattlynne wrote:
I am new to video editing and have a simple query. I have a 2.4GB PC, 768MB memory, 120GB hard drive running Pinnacle DVD500plus Vs 4.5 and Premiere 6. The advice I have been given for compression is to use the hardware codec, and follow the Pinnacle suggested codecs. My compression ratios are about 3:1 which I don't think is great, and won't allow me to put an hour of raw video footage onto a DVD.

What does that 3:1 refer to? Compression ratio (i.e., ratio between uncompressed size and compressed size) or encoding time (i.e., 3 hours to encode 1 hour of footage)?

I'm assuming it's the encoding time, since MPEG typically results in a compression ratio of 20:1 or more.